Flinders Sport

Previous
Next

Sport is an important part of learning and life at Matthew Flinders Anglican College.

Flinders College Sports

Sport is integral to the co-curricular experience at Flinders. Whether it is played competitively or recreationally, sport helps students grow in confidence. Students learn through perseverance, resilience, teamwork and leadership, as well as when they celebrate success and deal with disappointment.

Our students at Flinders excel as teams and individuals, with championship titles in many sports, including Athletics, Netball, Cross Country, Rugby and AFL. Find out more about our Flinders College Sport program here

Flinders Club Sports

Our Flinders Club Sports are not only for Flinders students but are open to all children in the local community. Learn more about our Flinders Club Sports options here.

School Representative Sport

The College offers a variety of sports where students aged 10–18 can represent the College at district, regional and state levels. The following sports are available: AFL, athletics, baseball, basketball, cricket, cross country, football, golf, hockey, netball, rugby league, rugby union, softball, surfing, swimming, tennis, touch football, volleyball and water polo.

The pathway to Australian Schools Representation is Independent District (SCISSA), Sunshine Coast Region (Redcliffe to Cooroy), Queensland, Australia (where available). Not all sports have representative opportunities at all four levels. Further clarification is available from Adam Ridgewell (Head of Sport) or Linda Donald (Head of Primary Sport). For more information please visit the SCISSA website.

Flinders Elite Athlete Program
Open now for applications, the new Flinders Elite Athlete Program will provide specialised services, mentoring support and tailored workshops for exceptional Flinders student athletes to enable them to achieve across their sporting pursuits and academic life. Applications are invited from current Flinders students as well as from students who are planning to join Flinders. To learn more, click here.  

Flinders Directors of Coaching

The College has Directors of Coaching across the sports of basketball, cricket, football, hockey, netball, rugby, touch football, volleyball and water polo. Flinders students benefit from the expertise of these world-class sports leaders to encourage students to participate in sport and reach their potential. Read our Directors of Coaching biographies here

Sports Facilities 

There are many quality sports facilities on campus at Flinders to enable students to pursue their sporting hobbies, improve their fitness and skills, and learn through the Health & Physical Education curriculum.

  • The Flinders Aquatic Centre provides a Learn-to-Swim program as well as a quality 25-metre 8-lane heated outdoor pool with training squads for all levels
  • multi-purpose two-court indoor Sports Centre
  • Flinders Fitness Centre
  • Andrew Kratzmann Tennis Academy
  • two manicured flood-lit sporting fields that offer three full-sized fields and two cricket pitches
  • a covered Primary Pavilion with two multi-purpose hard courts; and
  • high quality indoor and outdoor cricket nets.

Explore our sports facilities at Flinders here.

Sports Scholarships

Flinders Sport Scholarships, remitting up to 50% of tuition fees*, are offered to students entering Years 7-12. For further information, click here

Sports Contacts
ActivityTeacher in ChargeEmail
Head of Sport (7-12)Adam Ridgewellaridgewell@mfac.edu.au
Head of Primary Sport (P-6)Linda Donaldldonald@mfac.edu.au
Sport AdministratorKelli Skodakskoda@mfac.edu.au
AthleticsMark McDowellmmcdowell@mfac.edu.au
AFLBen Stanleybstanley@mfac.edu.auu
BasketballBill Hooperbhooper@mfac.edu.au
CricketRodney Davisonrdavison@mfac.edu.au
Cross CountryMark McDowellmmcdowell@mfac.edu.au
EquestrianJulene Robertsonjrobertson@mfac.edu.au
HockeyWendy Cookwcook@mfac.edu.au
NetballLauren Nourselnourse@mfac.edu.au
RugbyAdam Ridgewellaridgewell@mfac.edu.au
SoccerMike Kingmking@mfac.edu.au
SwimmingGary Davisgdavis@mfac.edu.au
TennisAlison McKenzieamckenzie@mfac.edu.au
Touch FootballScott Kennedyskennedy@mfac.edu.au
VolleyballKathryn Rooke-Joneskrooke@mfac.edu.au
Water PoloNoel Hayesnhayes@mfac.edu.au
Flinders ClubsMain Contact
Flinders Aquatic AcademyErin Mooney
0448 482 444
swim@flindersaquaticacademy.com
Flinders Basketball ClubHelen Court-Williams
0417 642 555
basketballclub@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Cricket ClubChris Peters
cricketclub@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Hockey Clubhockeyclub@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Netball ClubMelanie Wylie
netballclub@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Rowing ClubJanine Setchell
0402 026 862
rowingclub@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Rugby ClubOwen Jenkins
rugbyclub@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Sailing ClubIan Jessett
0473 574 306
sailingclub@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Soccer ClubJohn Gillies
0419 750 066
footballclub@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Tennis ClubAndrew Kratzmann
0402 125 746
aktatennis@icloud.com

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.