Flinders Sport

Previous
Next

Beyond the classroom, a plethora of sporting opportunities awaits at Matthew Flinders Anglican College.

Flinders College Sports

Played competitively or recreationally, sport is integral to the co-curricular experience at Flinders – helping students grow in confidence through perseverance, resilience, teamwork and leadership, celebrating success and dealing with disappointment. Our students excel as teams and individuals, with championship titles in many sports, including Athletics, Netball, Cross Country, Rugby and AFL. Find out more about our Flinders College Sport program here

Flinders Club Sports

 Our Flinders Club Sports are not only for Flinders students but are open to all children in the local community. Learn more about our Flinders Club Sports options here.

School Representative Sport

The College offers a variety of sports where students aged 10–18 can represent the College at district, regional and state levels. The following sports are available: AFL, athletics, baseball, basketball, cricket, cross country, football, golf, hockey, netball, rugby league, rugby union, softball, surfing, swimming, tennis, touch football, volleyball and water polo.

The pathway to Australian Schools Representation is Independent District (SCISSA), Sunshine Coast Region (Redcliffe to Cooroy), Queensland, Australia (where available). Not all sports have representative opportunities at all four levels. Further clarification is available from Adam Ridgewell (Head of Sport) or Linda Donald (Head of Primary Sport). For more information please visit the SCISSA website.

Flinders Directors of Coaching

The College has Directors of Coaching across the sports of basketball, cricket, football, hockey, netball, rugby, touch football, volleyball and water polo. Flinders students benefit from the expertise of these world-class Directors of Coaching to encourage students to participate in sport and reach their potential. Read our Directors of Coaching biographies here

Sports Facilities 

There are many quality sports facilities on campus to enable students to pursue their sporting hobbies, improve their fitness and skills, and learn through the Health & Physical Education curriculum. The Flinders Aquatic Centre provides a Learn-to-Swim program as well as a quality 25-metre 8-lane heated outdoor pool. The Centre plays hosts to College swimming carnivals, Health & Physical Education swim lessons, water polo training and matches, and more. Explore our sports facilities here.

Sports Scholarships

Flinders Sport Scholarships, remitting up to 50% of tuition fees*, are offered to students entering Years 7-12. The 2021 Flinders Sports Scholarship round is open for applications now. Learn more here

Sports Contacts
ActivityTeacher in ChargeEmail
Head of Sport (7-12)Adam Ridgewellaridgewell@mfac.edu.au
Head of Primary Sport (P-6)Linda Donaldldonald@mfac.edu.au
Sport AdministratorKelli Skodakskoda@mfac.edu.au
AthleticsMark McDowellmmcdowell@mfac.edu.au
AFLBen Stanleybstanley@mfac.edu.auu
BasketballBill Hooperbhooper@mfac.edu.au
CricketRodney Davisonrdavison@mfac.edu.au
Cross CountryMark McDowellmmcdowell@mfac.edu.au
EquestrianJulene Robertsonjrobertson@mfac.edu.au
HockeyWendy Cookwcook@mfac.edu.au
NetballLauren Nourselnourse@mfac.edu.au
RugbyDean Carelsedcarelse@mfac.edu.au
SoccerRob Austinraustin@mfac.edu.au
SwimmingGary Davisgdavis@mfac.edu.au
TennisAlison McKenzieamckenzie@mfac.edu.au
Touch FootballScott Kennedyskennedy@mfac.edu.au
VolleyballKathryn Rooke-Joneskrooke@mfac.edu.au
Water PoloNoel Hayesnhayes@mfac.edu.au
Flinders ClubsMain Contact
Flinders Aquatic AcademyErin Mooney
0448 482 444
swim@flindersaquaticacademy.com
Flinders Basketball ClubHelen Court-Williams
0417 642 555
basketballclub@mfac.edu.au
Annie Massurit

taji@bigpond.net.au
Flinders Cricket ClubChris Peters
cricketclub@mfac.edu.au
Lisa Schultz (Treasurer)
lschultz@gmail.com

Libby Sanderson (Secretary)
libsanderson3@gmail.com


Flinders Hockey ClubAndrew Needham
0404 282 990
hockeyclub@mfac.edu.au
Wendy Wood
Flinders Netball ClubAnthony Butt
0428 237 762
netballclub@mfac.edu.au
Kate Price
kateprice@yahoo.com.au
Flinders Rowing ClubJanine Setchell
0402 026 862
rowingclub@mfac.edu.au
Nicole Lewis
nlewis@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Rugby ClubSarah Tipper
0426117355
rugbyclub@mfac.edu.au
Peter Jorgensen
coastalsmiles@hotmail.com

Scherone Arndell
Flinders Sailing ClubIan Jessett
0473 574 306 sailingclub@mfac.edu.au
Fran Rogers
ianandfranrogers@bigpond.com
Flinders Soccer ClubJohn Gillies
0419 750 066
footballclub@mfac.edu.au
Fiona Gillies
treasurer@flindersfootballclub.com
Flinders Tennis ClubAndrew Kratzmann
0402125746
kratz7@icloud.com
Alison Mckenzie

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.