Sports

Sports 2017-06-13T17:06:25+00:00
  • Netball at Matthew Flinders Anglican College
  • Hockey at Matthew Flinders Anglican College

At Matthew Flinders Anglican College we believe in ensuring our students step into the future as well-rounded individuals. To support this belief we offer a wide range of co-curricular activities that provide opportunities for all students to develop existing or new interests and to cultivate critical team work and leadership abilities.

Sport, whether played in a competitive or recreational setting, is an important part of our drive to ensure students are equipped with the skills of perseverance, hard work, celebrating successes and coping with disappointments.

Aside from the obvious physical and health benefits that sport brings, there are also wide-reaching advantages for cognitive development, personal wellbeing and social integration, so there is a definite overall emphasis both on participation and the realisation of potential.

Our physical education program offers students the chance to absorb the aspects needed for their physical literacy which, studies show, is linked to a greater likelihood of extended participation as well as the positive attitude and behaviours associated with being physically active.

Students who excel at individual sports also have the opportunity to extend their skills set in a competitive environment thanks to the expert coaching on offer and the College’s participation in leagues and events at local, state and national level.

The school has produced a host of world champions, Australian representatives, Commonwealth Games and Olympic medallists. It is a history we are proud of and one we continually seek to better.

Please send me more information regarding the following sport(s) at Matthew Flinders Anglican College:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Phone (required)

Please send me information regarding the following sport(s)(required):

Desired Year level:

Notes

Matthew Flinders Anglican College offers a variety of sports where students aged 13–18 can represent the College at district, regional and state levels. The following sports are available: AFL, athletics, baseball, basketball, cricket, cross country, football, golf, hockey, netball, rugby league, rugby union, softball, surfing, swimming, tennis, touch football, volleyball and water polo. The pathway to Australian Schools Representation is: Independent District (SCISSA), Sunshine Coast Region (Redcliffe to Cooroy), Queensland, Australia (where available). Not all sports have representative opportunities at all four levels. Further clarification is available from Adam Ridgewell (Head of Sport). For more information please visit the scissa website.
2017 Sports Contacts
Co-curricular ActivityTeacher in ChargeEmail
Head of Sport (7-12)Adam Ridgewellaridgewell@mfac.edu.au
Head of Primary Sport (P-6)Linda Donaldldonald@mfac.edu.au
AthleticsPhil Coppockpcoppock@mfac.edu.au
AFLBen Stanleybstanley@mfac.edu.auu
BasketballBill Hooperbhooper@mfac.edu.au
CheerleadingJo Bushjbush@mfac.edu.au
CricketGreg Blanchgblanch@mfac.edu.au
Cross CountryPhil Coppockpcoppock@mfac.edu.au
EquestrianJulene Robertsonjrobertson@mfac.edu.au
HockeyWendy Cookwcook@mfac.edu.au
NetballLauren Nourselnourse@mfac.edu.au
RugbyMichael Molloymmolloy@mfac.edu.au
SoccerCameron Scallycscally@mfac.edu.au
Surf SportsAdam Ridgewell
John Thomas
aridgewell@mfac.edu.au
jt@mfac.edu.au
SwimmingGary Davisgdavis@mfac.edu.au
TennisAlison McKenzieamckenzie@mfac.edu.au
Touch FootballScott Kennedyskennedy@mfac.edu.au
TriathlonGarry Jamesgjames@mfac.edu.au
VolleyballKathryn Rooke-Joneskrooke@mfac.edu.au
Water PoloMr Noel Hayesnhayes@mfac.edu.au
Flinders ClubsMain Contact
Flinders Aquatic AcademyMs Nicole Lavender
Phone: 0448 482444
flindersaquaticacademy@outlook.com
Mr Chris Mooney
Phone: 0435 234 613
c_moose3@yahoo.com

Mrs Jan Cameron
Phone: 0481 380 651
jan.cameron@swimming.org.au
Flinders Basketball ClubMrs Helen Court-Williams
Phone: 0417 642 555

hccourt@bigpond.com
Flinders Cricket ClubMr Mike Keane
Phone: 0418 912 486
m.keane7@bigpond.com
Mr Noel Brady
Phone: 0418 373 156
knbrady@bigpond.net.au
Flinders Hockey ClubMr Mel Myers (President)
Phone: 0418 182 846
mel.myers@jetpack.com.au

Mr Oliver Martens (Secretary)
flindershockey@outlook.com
Mrs Wendy Cook
Phone: 5477 3231
wcook@mfac.edu.au
Flinders Netball ClubMr Anthony Butt
Phone: 0428 237 762
flindersnetballclub@gmail.com
Flinders Rugby ClubMr Damien Groves
Phone: 0417 212 775
damien@pitchers.com.au
Flinders Sailing ClubMr Michael Hodgson
mahodgo62@gmail.com
Flinders Soccer ClubMr Michael Wallden
Phone: 0400 790 271
president@flindersfootballclub.com
Flinders Tennis ClubMrs Alison McKenzie
Phone: 5477 3280
amckenzie@mfac.edu.au

2017 Calendar of Sport

Our Sports