Middle School Curriculum

Year 7

The Year 7 curriculum establishes a strong foundation of skills for students in a highly pastoral setting.  Within the unique Year 7 Precinct, students are grouped into core classes for English, Mathematics, Science, Humanities, Health & Physical Education and Languages (French and Japanese). Mathematics becomes increasingly differentiated as the year progresses through the 'Maths 4 Me' program. Students are also introduced to four specialised Arts fields in a rotation through Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts. The IDEAS program integrates Design and Digital Technologies in a problem-solving context. 

Year 8

In Year 8 students are offered an expanding choice of Arts, Language and Technologies electives, reflective of their developing interests and independence. These electives complement a traditional core consisting of Mathematics, English, Science, Humanities and the multi-disciplinary IDEAS course.

Year 9

The Year 9, 'Year to RISE' program inspires students to ask questions, seek solutions and take action, leveraging their curiosity by striking a balance between knowledge development and inquiry. The curriculum encourages students to master the skills of various disciplines, engage in meaningful and transferable learning, and to find their purpose through key experiences, all part of readying themselves for the demands of senior schooling.

Click here to learn more about Year 7, Year 8 and Year 9 subjects at Flinders.

Request our College


Request our Prospectus

Book a Personalised

College Tour

Book Your Tour